6 months progress…

It’s the 6th month anniversary of my bunion surgery!! My feet are better and better every single week, the big toes are a bit flexible than last month, now they can fit in to regular shoes!!

Good to wear beautiful sandals

It feels so good to fit in to a pair of regular shoes!!

At this stage, although I can bend my big toes, but they are still quite stiff compare to what they were before. I had the thought of going to see a physio therapist but then I decided to do some exercises for my stiff toes….

Stiff big toes

bend to the limit

The nature of my work is to be on my feet for hours; therefore, putting my feet up and massage them with lotion is pretty much needed everyday. I use the anti-stress lotion from Bath&Body Works( basically you can use any lotion you want, I simply just love the scent of that anti-stress stuff), and I massage both feet, and work on my big toes for about 5 mins. I bend them downward and upward slowly and gently, and then wiggle my toes for about 1 min…I found it very helpful, toes are more flexible, and I can see the big toes have more movements after massaging…

only the big toes are not wiggling...

The other good exercise is to bend my big toes when taking a hot bath! Just wiggling my toes under the water, the pressure of the water helps without hard impact, and the warm water makes my feet feel so nice!

Hopefully I can start to wear some heels again…cuz I really want to!! I have tried to put my feet in to some of my heels, for some reasons, my feet are wider than before, so I can’t even squeeze my feet into the shoes I used to wear before…sigh~~~~ well, I definitely need to purchase new heels when my feet are ready!! Isn’t it great?

7 thoughts on “6 months progress…

  1. Hi! I almost cried when I came across your blog about your bunion problem + surgery + post-op. I am having the same bunion problem as you –> a lot of the women in my family have it. I have been wanting to have this surgery but very afraid to do so. Your blog gives me some courage. Thank you, thank you, thank you for writing that and all those pics!!! But I do have some questions for you especially about the post-op care, etc. Would you please send me an email to mdjohan@gmail.com if you have some time and don’t mind answering my questions? Thank you so much! Regards, Mer

  2. Thank you once again Kat for doing this blog. It has been very useful me to get a patient’s perspective this way.I would say that most patients experience more pain than you did but that it is handled well with medication.We reviewed our 5 to 10 year results, and found that over 80 % of patients were happy with the operation at long term followup.Of those that were not satisfied, the vast majority still had good pain relief. The main complaint was recurrence of deformity.So the take home messageis that this operation is done primarily for pain relief.
    All the Best
    Brian McGoey MD

    • It’s amazing how out of all the people I know, I can name 3 who have had bunions.. My nan, my mother and me. It’s not until the world wide web showed me I’m not alone.
      I can relate to just about everything you have written Kat (apart from the surgery.. Thats to come next month.. Eek).. Since I can remember I’ve always been so ashamed of my feet and so self conscious.. So I can’t wait to have the feeling you have had, seeing normal, beautiful feet and being able to buy PRETTY SANDALS!! I do however, wish I was in Canada, so the same doctor could do my feet.. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not only worried about the look of them, they do hurt if I try exercising in runners.. But at the end of the day, I look forward to buying my first pair of thongs!
      Thank you so much for sharing your experience in this blog!!! You’ve definitely calmed my nerves a bit more!! 🙂
      Cheers from Australia. April 🙂

  3. It’s amazing how out of all the people I know, I can name 3 who have had bunions.. My nan, my mother and me. It’s not until the world wide web showed me I’m not alone.
    I can relate to just about everything you have written Kat (apart from the surgery.. Thats to come next month.. Eek).. Since I can remember I’ve always been so ashamed of my feet and so self conscious.. So I can’t wait to have the feeling you have had, seeing normal, beautiful feet and being able to buy PRETTY SANDALS!! I do however, wish I was in Canada, so the same doctor could do my feet.. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not only worried about the look of them, they do hurt if I try exercising in runners.. But at the end of the day, I look forward to buying my first pair of thongs!
    Thank you so much for sharing your experience in this blog!!! You’ve definitely calmed my nerves a bit more!! 🙂
    Cheers from Australia. April 🙂

  4. It’s amazing how out of all the people I know, I can name 3 who have had bunions.. My nan, my mother and me. It’s not until the world wide web showed me I’m not alone.
    I can relate to just about everything you have written Kat (apart from the surgery.. Thats to come next month.. Eek).. Since I can remember I’ve always been so ashamed of my feet and so self conscious.. So I can’t wait to have the feeling you have had – seeing normal, beautiful feet and being able to buy PRETTY SANDALS!! I do however, wish I was in Canada, so the same doctor could do surgery.. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not only worried about the look of them, they do hurt after after about 10/15 minutes, exercising in runners. But at the end of the day, I look forward to buying my first pair of thongs!
    Thank you so much for sharing your experience in this blog!!! You’ve definitely calmed my nerves a bit more!! 🙂
    Cheers from Australia. April 🙂

  5. It’s amazing how out of all the people I know, I can name 3 who have had bunions.. My nan, my mother and me. It’s not until the world wide web showed me I’m not alone.
    I can relate to just about everything you have written Kat (apart from the surgery.. Thats to come next month.. Eek).. Since I can remember I’ve always been so ashamed of my feet and so self conscious.. So I can’t wait to have the feeling you have had, seeing normal, beautiful feet and being able to buy PRETTY SANDALS!! I do however, wish I was in Canada, so the same doctor could do my feet.. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not only worried about the look of them, they do hurt if I try exercising in runners.. But at the end of the day, I look forward to buying my first pair of thongs!
    Thank you so much for sharing your experience in this blog!!! You’ve definitely calmed my nerves a bit more!! 🙂
    Cheers from Australia. April 🙂

    • Hi April,

      Thank you for liking and reading my articles. My feet are still well and I’m wearing pretty heels no problems at all!! I’m truly thankful for making this decision of bunion surgery. My doctor here in Canada is awesome!
      All the best to you, you will have your beautiful feet back very soon!!

      Kat

Leave a Reply

